Hey all.

No, this isn’t an episode post just yet, though progress has certainly been made on the next episode/chapter of ‘Outcast.’ It’s amazing how much energy one can expend converting a few lines of outline text into a full-bodied chapter of content. Mind you it’s not a bad thing, writing oneself into exhaustion before calling it a night. I mean hey…keeps you honest, right?

However, being a geek and not a nerd, I do have a life away from the keyboard & screen. Granted, it’s not as lavishly outgoing as some people’s lives, but it’s enough for me. So, in between the fits and spurts of writing I got done this weekend, I headed to this one Irish pub (Tipperary’s) in NW Calgary to meet up with some of my fellow Calgary-based podcasters. It’s a monthly get-together where we sit down, have a couple of beers (yay for Transit), and either focus on a particular subject or just shoot the bull.

The event’s hosted by podcasting veteran Daryl Cognito, host of Atomic Suburbia. In truth, I’m shocked at just how many Calgary podcasters there are. Of course, I tend to move in different circles from a lot of them, so I really shouldn’t be surprised. Most of the podcasters I’ve met here are real entrepreneurs, always trying to find ways to ‘monetize’ their podcasting skills. I’m not sure if that’s the norm for other podcasting groups in other cities.

Thanks to the cold, this past meetup was little more than a social gathering with only a few people. We all talked shop for a bit, had a few drinks, and headed for home after a couple of hours. There wasn’t much to take away from the meetup, save a few laughs, a potential job lead (Thanks, Eric), and a gift from my new hair stylist (Thanks for that, Rachelle). I also got to pitch to everyone a new product my company’s working on, which could potentially re-shape how company boardrooms are used.

Anyway, after I got home and thawed out – gotta love those minus WTF kinds of days – I logged into SecondLife to zone out for a couple of hours. After going through a rather lengthy list of DJ’s announcing the starts of their respective runs, I came across a message that left me just tickled. Basically, it was an ‘Outcast’ fan who found me in-world, saying how much he loved the book and that if it ever gets published, he’s ready to purchase two copies.

This person and I chatted for a bit after that (turns out he was in-world too), and it kinda dawned on me that used properly, Second Life could almost be considered a form of social media. Granted, it’s not as portable and readily accessible as, say Twitter or Facebook, but the basic principle remains the same: You can connect with people with common interests over the Internet. Of course, when you think about it, just about any MMORPG could be considered the same thing. While in the game worlds you’re expected to fulfill a certain task or quest, you can still just sit back and chat with friends with no real pressure to do anything else.

This is now the 4th time since I’ve started writing/podcasting ‘Outcast’ that someone from Second Life has let me know they’re a fan of it. Maybe it’s because of my lack of so-called ‘normal’ feedback from things like email and voicemail, but for some reason I just feel special for getting that kind of ‘love’ for the book. I also know I’m not the first podcaster to take advantage of Second Life’s reach to promote a project. Hell, my avatar still wears an Ionath Krakens T-shirt more often than not. Still, it’s an interesting feeling, being able to interact with fans like that.

I also got my first voicemail feedback call on the new line. I’m a little hesitant to relay the details of it here, mostly because I want to save it until the next episode. As well, another podcast author sent me an email, happy that I’m back in the saddle again, so to speak. Ah tell y’all…ah kin feel the luv in this here room, bah gum.

Other than that, I managed to get some recording done for the QN podcast, and another project I’m working on, all while plugging away at my own project. A busy weekend, but damned if it wasn’t productive as all get out.

